Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Talk with assessing staff, review your property record card, as well as comparable sales. You may request an inspection on the abatement application.
Assessed value: $300,000Less residential exemption $100,000CPA taxable value: $200,000x Tax Rate: 10.00 Net Tax: $2,000.00x 1% .01Annual CPA Surcharge $ 20.00
The surcharge for commercial & industrial properties is calculated in the same manner but those properties do not receive the benefit of the $100,000 value reduction which is applied to all Class 1 residential properties.
To apply for an exemption, an application must be filed with the Assessors’ Office annually and supporting income documents will be required for approval. If you already receive an exemption under Massachusetts General Law Chapter 59, Section 5, Clause 41C, a separate application may not be required but you must specifically request that you be exempted from the CPA surcharge.
Per the 1996 Telecom Act, TV, phone, and internet are regulated separately. State law M.G.L. Chapter 166A requires a City Cable TV Advisory Board. The contract is limited to cable TV service. For the state overview of the CAC responsibilities, visit their website Department of Telecommunications & Cable.
A. Contact your carrier B. File a complaint with the Mass Department of Telecommunications & Cable C. Attend meetings, contact the Mayor's office, or contact a committee member.
Vendor checks are usually issued every other week.
We are open Monday through Wednesday from 8:30 am to 4:00 pm; Thursday from 8:30 am to 6:30 pm, and Friday from 8:30 am to 12:30 pm.
The City Clerk's office can only accept payment by cash, check, or money order.
You can register for salt water fishing by calling the Marine Fisheries at (888) 674-7411 or visit the state’s webpage Recreational Saltwater Fishing Permit.
There is a state-mandated 3-DAY WAITING PERIOD before the license can be picked up. THE LICENSE IS VALID FOR 60 DAYS. For more information on marriage licenses, visit the Marriage License page.
Because a monthly report is sent to the aforementioned department, as well as copies of each license sold, the Fisheries and Wildlife Department prefers that the administration fee is not reflected on the report. Hunting and Fishing License page.
Fixed location vending is regulated by a annual bidding process held through the City's Purchasing Department. Otherwise, vending is primarily through certain special events which must be permitted or authorized by the City Licensing Commission. City Purchasing Department.
Massachusetts State Law (The Open Meeting Law) requires public government bodies to have meetings which are open to all and which are announced or "noticed" at least 48 hours in advance (excluding Saturday, Sunday, and Holidays). There are several specific exemptions to this open meeting requirement which allows the Council to hold closed or "executive" sessions.
The School Committee is an independently elected body (six (6) members plus the Mayor) and the only formal role of the Council in the School Committee is the "bottom line" approval of the School Committee budget as part of the City budget, although the Committee and the Council do on occasion meet jointly.
R1 RCM Inc. (formerly Intermedix) is currently our contracted billing company. Their call center for our patients is 888-987-9943 and the website is https://www.r1rcm.com/patient-billing-support
All Gloucester Fire Department members are trained Emergency Medical Technicians (EMTs). During a medical emergency, minutes and seconds count. The response of the closest Firefighter/EMTs brings properly trained first responders to your home or office as quickly as possible. Life saving equipment, such as oxygen, defibrillators and medications are carried on the fire engine for use by these trained Firefighter/EMTs. In many cases the additional staff assigned on the fire engine is also needed in order to provide the level of care required that an ambulance crew of two personnel could not accomplish alone, such as cardiopulmonary resuscitation at the advanced life support level. In many cases Paramedics assigned to Engines in West Gloucester, Bay View and Magnolia Stations are also Paramedics and are licensed and equipped to begin providing Advanced Life Support level of care prior to the arrival of the GFD ALS Ambulance. Current staffing does not allow this at all times but we strive to do so.
A permit must be obtained online at Gloucester’s Online Permitting Central via View Point Cloud. Those without internet access may come into Fire Headquarters/Fire Prevention Office at 8 School Street and use our public-access computer in the lobby to apply. The permit fee is $25.00. The online system accepts all major credit cards and charges a $1.74 processing fee. Applicants can also pay by check (payable to City of Gloucester) in person or by mail. Please note that permits paid by check cannot be issued until the check has been processed; this may cause a several day delay. Checks returned for insufficient funds must be redeemed in cash and a $25.00 fee for handling returned checks will be added. Sorry, no cash is accepted at any time. The burning season runs from January 15 through May 1 each year. As weather conditions can change rapidly, especially in the spring, the Deputy Fire Chief on duty determines on a daily basis when it is safe to conduct open burning. You must call each day to see if it’s permissible to burn as weather conditions or other factors may determine whether conditions allow burning that day. The Open Burn Status phone number: (978) 325-5300 and select extension 1.
This depends on many factors. There are several shoals in the river, so the draft of your vessel needs to be considered to time the transit with high tide or be close to it. Another critical consideration is the horsepower of your engine. When the tide is ebbing, it can reach up to 6-7 knots of current in the Blynman Canal. Your motor needs to be strong enough to maintain steerage at this time. Always call the Harbormaster at (978) 282-3012 for specific information.
The pump-out boat is a state-funded grant program through the Clean Water Act which reimburses up to 75% of operational costs to the office; as such, there is no fee for using the pump-out boat. Call the Harbormaster at (978) 282-3012 to make arrangements.
Complete an application for mooring with the Harbormaster, 19 Harbor Loop, located next to the Coast Guard Station. Applications are accepted year round. Call (978) 282-3012 for additional information.
Yes. A building permit is required for any structure to ensure compliance with the City Zoning Ordinance. If the shed has more than 120 square feet of floor area, the shed will need to comply with the Massachusetts State Building Code 780 CMR.
Sections 5110.3 and 110.3 of the Massachusetts State Building Code 780 CMR give exemptions for building permits. In general, a building permit is required for any work that is more than ordinary repairs of a structure.
If you are claiming that the city is responsible for damage to your personal property or for personal injuries, you may fill out a claim form and send it to the Legal Department. It will then be forwarded to the insurance company for the City, who will then determine whether the City is liable for any damages incurred.
For these private legal issues, you can contact either Neighborhood Legal Services or the Massachusetts Bar Association's lawyer referral service.
The Planning Board generally meets every first and third Thursday of each month in the Kyrouz Auditorium in City Hall located at 9 Dale Avenue. Meetings begin at 7:00 pm.
You may purchase a $30 Appliance/TV sticker at the Department of Public Works (DPW). Our hauler will provide a curbside pickup once a month (the first Thursday of each month); these stickers are available only at the DPW.
Please contact the call center for Veolia at (800) 499-9070.
Please call JRM Hauling & Recycling at (800) 323-HAUL(4285), or the Department of Public Works (DPW) at (978) 325-5600.
Temporary discoloration of water may occur as iron particles are cleaned from the pipes. Although this discolored water is not harmful to your health, you should avoid use of chlorine bleach when washing clothes to avoid staining of laundry. Running the cold water tap for a few minutes is usually sufficient to restore the flow of clean water to your home. If water quality problems persist, residents should call the Utility Division at (978) 325-5600.
Disposing of General Purpose and Alkaline Batteries: Alkaline batteries can be safely disposed of with normal household waste. Due to concerns about mercury in the municipal solid waste stream, manufacturers have voluntarily eliminated all of the added mercury from alkaline batteries since 1993. Alkaline batteries are composed primarily of common metals such as steel, zinc, and manganese and as such, do not pose a health or environmental risk during normal use or disposal. It is important not to dispose of large amounts of alkaline batteries in a group. Used batteries are often not completely "dead." Grouping used batteries together can bring these "live" batteries into contact with one another, creating safety risks. Proven cost-effective and environmentally safe recycling processes are not yet universally available for alkaline batteries.
Recycling Batteries with Other Chemistries: Due to the chemicals in them, you should recycle rechargeable, lithium, lithium ion, and zinc air batteries. In addition to “traditional” rechargeable batteries like AAs or AAAs, rechargeable batteries like the ones found in everyday household items such as cameras, cell phones, laptops, and power tools should also be recycled. Look for the battery recycling seals on rechargeable batteries. These types of batteries can be brought to the Department of Public Works (DPW) or Home Depot for disposal.
You may call the DPW at (978) 325-5600 to report this, or use the Citizen Request System.
No. You will still need free chlorine residual to prevent algae and bacteria growth.
All other pets, including dogs and cats, can safely consume chloraminated water.
* Never pour fats, oil and grease down the sink, garbage disposal, or toilet. * Pour fats, oil and grease (after it has cooled) into a container. Once the container is full, place it in the trash. * Before washing, scrape and dry wipe pots, pans, and dishes with paper towels. * Put baskets or strainers in sink drains to catch food scraps and other food solids and empty contents into the trash.* Minimize the use of garbage disposals.
The Department of Public Works (DPW) does not have rain barrels or composting bins available for sale; some suggestions include: Lowes, Home Depot, Ace Hardware, and True Value.
We advertise most procurements in the local newspaper, as well as the state's Central Register, Goods and Services Bulletin and on our own website.
You may purchase a $30 Appliance/TV sticker at the DPW. Our hauler will provide a curbside pickup once a month (the first Thursday of each month); these stickers are available only at the DPW.
Depending upon whether it’s latex or oil-based paints, there are different disposal methods: To properly dispose of latex paint, simply leave the lid off the can and let the paint dry up. Or, you can also add kitty litter or Speedy Dry to accelerate the process. Then, you may dispose of it in your regular trash. To properly dispose of oil-based paints, you must wait until the DPW holds it’s Household Hazardous Waste Day, which is usually held the last Saturday in September.
Depending upon which type of battery you have, there are different methods of properly disposing - DISPOSING OF GENERAL PURPOSE & ALKALINE BATTERIES: Alkaline batteries can be safely disposed of with normal household waste. Due to concerns about mercury in the municipal solid waste stream, manufacturers have voluntarily eliminated all of the added mercury from alkaline batteries since 1993. Alkaline batteries are composed primarily of common metals — steel, zinc, and manganese — and do not pose a health or environmental risk during normal use or disposal. It is important not to dispose of large amounts of alkaline batteries in a group. Used batteries are often not completely ’dead’. Grouping used batteries together can sometimes bring these ’live’ batteries into contact with one another, creating safety risks. Proven cost-effective and environmentally safe recycling processes are not yet universally available for alkaline batteries. RECYCLING BATTERIES WITH OTHER CHEMISTRIES: Due to the chemicals in some batteries, you should recycle rechargeable, lithium, lithium ion, and zinc air batteries. In addition to “traditional” rechargeable batteries like AAs or AAAs, rechargeable batteries like the ones found in everyday household items such as cameras, cell phones, laptops, and power tools should also be recycled. Look for the battery recycling seals on rechargeable batteries. These types of batteries can be brought to the DPW and Home Depot for disposal.
To dispose of an item that does not fit in the City issued trash bag, you will need to purchase a $10 Bulk Item Sticker. These may be purchased at The Building Center, Annie’s Variety (on Concord Street) Stop & Shop, and also the DPW. Examples of some of the types of items used with Bulk Item Stickers include: furniture, plastic cased vacuum cleaners, mattresses, rugs, entertainment centers, toilets.
Household Hazardous Waste Day is typically held once annually and is typically held on the last Saturday in September.
Please call JRM Hauling & Recycling directly at (800) 323-4285 or the DPW at (978) 325-5600.
THE DPW CANNOT ACCEPT: PROPANE TANKS OR ANY ITEM CONTAINING FREON SUCH AS AIR CONDITIONERS, REFRIGERATORS, OR DEHUMIDIFIERS
Yes. The trash barrel must be 50 gallons or less and be clearly marked with recycling stickers (stickers are available at no charge from the DPW).
You may purchase a replacement bin at the DPW for $5.00.
At the present time, rigid plastics such as lawn furniture and outdoor toys, such as Little Tykes slides and play sets are not accepted at the facility that our recyclables are taken to. To dispose of these types of items, a $10 Bulk Item Sticker is required. You may stack 4 of the stackable lawn chairs out with one sticker. Or you may bring these items to Essex County Recycle Center, 24 Kondelin Road, Monday through Friday 7am -4pm. to dispose of at no charge.
To dispose of furniture with your curbside rubbish, you can purchase a $10 Bulk Item Sticker; affix the sticker to the item and put it out on your regular trash day. You may also donate your clean furniture to Second Glance on Pond Road. Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., They also offer a pickup service by appointment. All proceeds from the sale of donations go to the Open Door Food Pantry which services all of Cape Ann. Call (978) 283-4298 for more information.
Massachusetts has seven recycling processing facilities that sort and bale over 500,000 ton of recyclables annually. After processing, your recyclables are ready to enter the "recycling marketplace".
* Paper and cardboard are turned into cereal and cracker boxes, book covers, and game boards at a recycling paper mill in Fitchburg, MA. * Glass bottles and jars are melted and used to make new containers at facilities such as St. Gobain containers in Milford, MA. * Plastic soda bottles become polyester fiberfill for jackets and sleeping bags, or polar fleece made by Malden Mills in Lawrence, MA. * Milk jugs, detergent bottles, and other #2 plastics become landscaping timbers and whiskey barrel planters made my Smartware products in Leominster, MA.
Unfortunately, your recycling can not go out for curbside collection. But you may bring your recycling to Essex County Recycle Center located at 24 Kondelin Road. They will accept your newspaper, cardboard, bottles, cans, and metal items at no charge. They also will accept rigid plastics (little tykes toys, 5 gallon water jugs, plastic lawn furniture etc.) for no charge.
No you do not - we are now a single stream! No need to sort!
Fluorescent light bulbs contain mercury and cannot be disposed of with regular household trash. To dispose you can bring them to the DPW on the last Saturday of each month from 9:00 am -12:00 pm or you can bring them to the Building Center during normal business hours.
The amount of your retirement allowance depends on: your age, your length of creditable service, the amount of your average annual rate of regular compensation, and your group classification.
For disability retirees, the amount of outside income you can earn is the difference between your gross retirement allowance and the present salary for the job from which you retired, plus $5,000.
Your health insurance premium may be deducted from your retirement allowance. Questions regarding your coverage should be directed to the Personnel Department at (978) 281-9742.
A portion of your retirement allowance is federally taxable. Please refer to IRS publication 575. The IRS requires that you pay 90% of the income tax that you will owe by having an amount withheld on a payroll plan or by filing an estimated quarterly tax return. If you wish, we will withhold a fixed amount of money from each retirement check you receive. You can change the amount of taxes withheld from your retirement check anytime you wish. Please notify the Board of any tax changes you might wish to make. We will ensure that you receive the appropriate form. State Income Tax Your retirement allowance is exempt from Massachusetts state taxes. When considering a move outside of the Commonwealth you should question whether or not your contributory pension will be taxed by your prospective new home state. Currently fifteen states do not tax Mass. pensions. In addition several states provide tax exemptions or exclusions for which Mass. pensions may qualify. For example, Maine offers a $6,000 pension exemption, while pensioners, 59 ½ or over, may qualify for a $20,000 exemption in New York.
TO PAY ONLINE: To pay your ticket online, go to Online Services . TO PAY IN PERSON: Stop by the Collector’s Office at 9 Dale Avenue, Gloucester, Monday through Wednesday 8:30 am to 4:00 pm, Thursday 8:30 am to 6:30 pm or Friday 8:30 am to 12:30 pm. TO PAY BY MAIL: Mail to City of Gloucester, Office of the Parking Clerk, P.O. Box 203, Milford, MA 01757.
Automotive-related items: DPW Yard accepts: oil filters, motor oil, tires and car batteries are accepted. The oil is used to heat the DPW building so it must be as clean as possible. Tires are also accepted (with the exception of commercial tires which are not accepted). Please limit your tire disposal to 2 per month. Items not accepted: gasoline, anti-freeze, contaminated motor oil. These items, however, can be brought to the DPW during the Hazardous Waste Collection Day (typically the last Saturday in September).
Batteries are a unique product comprised of heavy metals and other elements. Some of these toxic heavy metals include nickel cadmium, alkaline, mercury, nickel metal hydride and lead acid. It is these elements that threaten our environment if not properly discarded.
Not all batteries are the same, and there are different ways to ensure each type is properly discarded or recycled. The batteries that consumers use most include household alkaline batteries, nickel-cadmium (NiCd) batteries, nickel metal hydride (NiMH), rechargeable batteries, button cell, automotive and non-automotive lead based batteries.
That’s a lot of batteries – how do you know what type you are using? The following information might help:
Household/Alkaline batteries are common, single-use batteries – AA, AAA, C and D. These batteries have little to no mercury in them and recycling programs generally no longer accept them. In Gloucester, we do not. It is perfectly safe to dispose of them in the trash.
Nickel-Cadmium (NiCd) are rechargeable batteries- considered to be hazardous waste, and MUST be recycled.
Nickel Metal Hydride (NiMH) or Lithium-Ion are commonly used in laptops. They are considered non-hazardous waste but contain elements that can be recycled.
Button cell batteries are commonly used in hearing aids, calculators, and watches. These batteries contain silver, mercury, and other elements that are hazardous to the environment and should be recycled.
Automotive & sealed lead-based batteries contain hazardous materials and elements that can be reused and should be recycled as well.
Clothing & Shoes: The Salvation Army and Goodwill both collect and resell clothing at low prices and use the proceeds to fund their own charitable activities, so donations help make a positive difference on multiple levels. Put clothes in a drop box run by a charity. Donation drop boxes are usually located in the parking lots near stores or shopping centers. You should check beforehand that the charity name on the box is a legitimate one--there are many organizations that use items donated in drop boxes for their own profit, rather than for helping others. Contact local homeless shelters and ask if clothing donations are needed. See if there are any specific clothing items that they need most. Action, Inc., Second Glance, Planet Aid boxes, Winter clothing is always in demand during the winter for warmth drives commonly held at schools, banks, community centers, and places of worship. Special items: such as prom dresses for teens who may not be able to afford to purchase one. Business/professional attire is often collected to help people in interviewing for jobs; Wellspring in Gloucester or other organizations (Rosie’s Place in Boston, MA). Organizations for Clothing/Shoes "Beyond the Bin", Big Brother Big Sister Foundation, Salvation Army, Second Glance. Current Drop Box Locations: Hiltz Disposal, 24 Kondelin Road, Gloucester, MA (accessible M-F 7:00 am - 4:00 pm), JD Myers Pub, 24 Lexington Avenue, Gloucester, MA, Holy Family Parish, 74 Pleasant Street, Gloucester, MA, Red Barrel Restaurant, 171 Eastern Ave, Essex, MA, Tony Tally Motor Sales, 209 Essex Avenue, Gloucester, MA, Dawn’s Studio of Dance, 42 Eastern Avenue, Gloucester, MA.
Electronics/E-Waste Staple’s Office Store locations generally accept electronics and e-waste to no cost to you —regardless of brand, condition, where it was purchased. For more information of Staple’s Recycling Program, visit Staples.com.
The DPW Yard accepts fluorescent light bulbs.
Furniture: Second Glance on Pond Road, Gloucester has a furniture annex. Second Glance is part of the Open Door Food Pantry’s fundraising activities; both are non-profits and all monies raised through the sale of their furniture and other goods go directly to feeding hundreds of families on Cape Ann. For hours of operation, to schedule a pickup, or make an appointment, call (978) 283-4298 or visit their website Open Door Food Pantry. Beyond The Bin also has information on where to recycle furniture.
Although not as prevalent on grocery shelves as they used to be, glass bottles and jars still have a presence and need to be recycled when empty. Whether they once held beer, wine, spaghetti sauce, baby food, or salsa, glass containers are easy to recycle because they can easily be recycled back to new glass.
Inexplicably, only about 22 percent of glass bottles and jars are recycled nationally. Massachusetts recycles 66 percent due in part to our deposit laws on beverage containers. But aside from getting your nickel back for your bottles, why should you recycle glass bottles and containers? Glass is forever. Glass can be recycled an infinite number of times; it really does get recycled! The same glass bottle or jar can be recycled over and over again into the same high quality glass every time. Glass bottles and jars go from recycling bin to store shelf in as few as 30 days. An estimated 80 percent of recovered glass containers are made into new glass bottles.
Glass saves energy. By using recycled glass cullet, the glass container industry reduces the amount of energy it needs for its furnaces. Using recycled glass minimizes consumption of raw materials and lessens the industry’s overall demand for energy. Plus it’s cost efficient. The glass recycling process is a closed-loop system, creating no additional waste or by-products.
Glass recycling lessens greenhouse gas emissions. For container glass, a 10 percent increase in cullet reduces particulates by 8 percent, reduces nitrogen oxide by 4 percent, and reduces sulfur oxides by 10 percent. And, for every six ton of recycled container glass used, one ton of carbon dioxide, a greenhouse gas, is reduced.
Glass saves raw materials. For every ton of glass recycled, more than a ton of raw materials are saved, including 1,300 pounds of sand, 410 pounds of soda ash, 380 pounds of limestone, and 160 pounds of feldspar. Save the landfill; Save the World. Recycling glass helps to preserve natural resources while lessening the load on landfills—and helping communities avoid expensive disposal costs.
While the majority of recycled glass is made into new glass bottles and jars, glass can also be remade into other products. The second largest market for recycled glass is fiberglass. Other markets include abrasives, "glasphalt" glass beads for reflective paint and filler in storm drains.
Accepted Scrap Metal: Metal items that are at least 80% metal; some acceptable items include bicycles, water heaters, tools, washers, dryers, dishwashers, file cabinets, metal chairs, and gas grills (without propane tanks). Unacceptable items: Propane tanks, any item containing freon such as air conditioners, refrigerators, or dehumidifiers.
To find out where to recycle, reuse, or re-purpose items n Massachusetts, use the searchable database, Beyond The Bin which is administered by Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection.
In the recycling world, the term is “single stream”; the sorting technology and workers in the sorting plants do the separation, with conveyor belts carrying each type of recyclable to a different place, so now, you can put most everything in together. No more putting recyclable paper and cardboard in a separate bin or putting recyclable cans, bottles, and plastics in a separate bin! Recycling your trash is an important way you can help preserve our environment, reduce our consumption of precious natural resources, save yourself and our City money. The more you put out for recycling, the less you have to spend on bags. Only with your help can we reach our recycling goals. Each item that is removed from the waste stream reduces our trash disposal costs, enabling us to use that money for other important city services - all while helping to preserve our environment! The main reason heard from residents who don’t recycle is that it is too much trouble for them to sort their recyclables and that the bins take up too much room with paper and junk mail in one bin and everything else in another. You can use an old trash barrel with a "Recycle" bumper sticker on it (stickers are available at the DPW at no cost). Now there is absolutely no excuse not to take part. And recycling is mandatory! Mandatory recycling ensures that we get recyclables out of the trash and therefore out of the incinerator in Saugus where Gloucester pays an additional fee for every ton of trash taken there. NOT RECYCLABLE/CONSIDERED REGULAR TRASH: Plastic bags of any kind including: pellet bags, styrofoam, bubble wrap, spray bottle pumps, deli & salad plastic containers, plastic disposable plates & cups, disposable silverware, napkins, styrofoam coffee cups, 3 ring binders, CDs and video tapes, greasy/food stained pizza boxes and paper with food stains.
This Beyond the Bin Directory is meant to help you recycle unique and hard-to-handle items that don't go in your recycling bin or recycling cart. While some of the outlets listed in this directory may accept material that have traditionally been handled by municipal recycling programs (such as paper, cardboard, bottles, cans, etc.), many of the outlets listed here do not accept these materials.
MassDEP provides an alphabetical listing of municipal recycling programs.
Wheels For Wishes is a charity vehicle donation program that turns cars, trucks, motorcycles, SUVs, RVs, and even boats into wishes for children in Massachusetts and Rhode Island. They are a tax-exempt charity under section 501(c)(3) of the IRS Code, benefiting the Make-A-Wish Foundation® of Massachusetts and Rhode Island. Contact the organization at (855) 641-9474 for more information or to arrange a donation. Visit their website at www.wheelsforwishes.org.
Sharps needles may NOT be disposed of in the trash. Addison Gilbert Hospital on Washington Street has a Sharps Disposal Kiosk in their main lobby; the needles must be in a puncture-resistant plastic container. For more information, call the Gloucester Health Department at (978) 281-9771.
The three recycling arrows is the universal symbol of recycling and printed on millions of products that can be recycled or have been made from recycled content. Each arrow in the recycling logo represents one step in the three-step process that completes the recycling loop. Step #1 is collection. This is when you put your recyclable materials into your curbside recycling bin. The collected materials are then processed and sold to manufacturing facilities such as steel, paper, and glass mills. Step #2 is the manufacturing process; the recyclable materials are converted into new products and shipped to stores across the country to be placed on shelves as new consumer goods, for example: Paper and cardboard are turned into cereal and cracker boxes, book covers, and game boards at a recycling paper mill in Fitchburg, MA. Glass bottles and jars are melted and used to make new containers in facilities such as St. Gobain Containers in Milford, MA. Milk jugs, detergent bottles, and other #2 plastics become landscaping timbers and whiskey barrel planters made by Smartware Products in Leominster, MA. Be careful! The 3-arrow recycle symbol can be misleading. It’s not a recycling stamp, even though the graphic is clearly slated towards recycling. It’s a "resin recycling code", which tells you what kind of plastic you’ve got. The recycling symbol does not necessarily mean that a product is made with recycled content or that it can be recycled in the City’s curbside collection program. Many plastic products are coded with a recycling symbol, indicating that somewhere they may be recyclable, but not necessarily accepted in Gloucester’s curbside program, for example: Codes 1 and 2 (milk bottles and soda bottles) are easily recycled. The other codes usually aren’t. Styrofoam (technically, "expanded polystyrene foam"); is code 6. You can’t recycle it in the sense of reducing it to constituent parts and making something new out of it (the way you can with codes 1 and 2) therefore even though it is stamped #6 it is not accepted in Gloucester’s curbside program . Step #3 of the Recycling Process is where you, the consumer, purchase products made with recycled content. “Buy Recycled” Myths: Here are four common myths and misconceptions about recycled products: Myth #1: "Recycled products are hard to find" This used to be true, but no longer. From the neighborhood grocery store to national retailers, stores sell thousands of products made from or packaged in recycled content material. Myth #2: "Recycled paper isn’t as good as non-recycled paper" Recycled content papers now share the same printing and performance characteristics and looks and acts the same as new paper. Recycled content paper has the same whiteness and brightness attributes as well. Recycled papers offers the same level of performance on copiers, and laser and ink jet printers. Myth #3: "Recycled products cost more". This used to be the case for some materials, but no longer. Many recycled products are priced competitively with their non-recycled counterparts and in fact, may cost less. Myth #4: "Recycled products are inferior in quality" This is simply not true. Recycled products have the same quality, reliability, and dependability. Surveys by the ’Buy Recycled Business Alliance’ asked hundreds of corporate purchasing agents about their satisfaction with recycled content products; 97% of respondents were pleased with the performance of recycled content products. When you “Buy Recycled” you complete the recycling loop!
The DPW/Recycling Department holds two Residential Hazardous Waste Days, typically one in the spring and one in the fall. Gloucester residents are allowed to bring up to 25 pounds or gallons of material at no cost. For over 25 pounds/gallons, an additional fee will be assessed. For up to 10 gallons or pounds over it is $30.00, 11-25 gallons or pounds over the charge is $50.00. Acceptable Household Materials Include: Rubber Cement, Airplane Glue, Fiberglass Resins, Photo Chemicals, Chemistry Sets, Furniture Polish, Floor & Metal Polish, Oven Cleaner, Fluorescent Bulbs, Mercury-Bearing wastes, Drain & Toilet Cleaner, Spot Remover Rug & Upholstery Cleaner, Hobby/Artist Supplies. Acceptable Yard-type Waste: Poisons, Insecticides, Fungicides, Chemical Fertilizers, Weed Killers, Moth Balls, Flea Control Products. Acceptable Workbench Waste: Oil Based Paints only, Stains & Varnishes, Wood Preservatives (except Penta), Paint Strippers and Thinners, Solvent Adhesives, Lighter Fluid. Acceptable Garage Waste: Fuels/Gasoline/Kerosene, Motor oil, Car batteries, Antifreeze, Engine Degreaser, Brake Fluid/Carburetor Cleaner, Transmission Fluid, Car Waxes and Polishes, Driveway Sealer, Roofing Tar, Swimming Pool Chemicals. Unacceptable Materials - Do NOT Bring any of the following: Latex Paint (to dispose of latex paint, pop lid, let dry, throw in trash...acceptable), Empty Containers, Trash, Commercial or Industrial Waste, Radioactive Waste, Smoke Detectors, Infectious & Biological Wastes, Compressed Gas Cylinders (other than propane), Ammunition, Fireworks, Explosives, Flares, Fire Extinguishers, Prescription Medicines/Syringes, Asbestos. How Can I Safely Transport These Hazardous Materials? (Important: Never Ever Mix Chemicals!) Leave materials in original containers, tighten caps and lids. Sort and pack separately: oil paint, pesticides, and household cleaners. Pack containers in sturdy upright boxes and pad with newspaper. Pack your car and drive directly to the site. NEVER SMOKE while handling hazardous material. During the residential hazardous waste day collections, residents are asked to schedule an appointment to bring their materials to the DPW yard. The Recycling Department can be reached at (978) 325-5600. Check the City’s website in the spring and fall to find exact dates; typically April and September.
The DPW has a special collection on a specific schedule where Christmas trees and wreaths are picked up on residents’ regular trash days. Check the website, Gloucester Daily Times, or call the DPW to find out the schedule. According to the National Christmas Tree Association, 25-30 million real Christmas trees are disposed of in the U.S. per year.